h1

A.M. Musings

September 10, 2009

I hit a brick wall last night.  Not literally, but the T/D of the last few weeks at work, plus not sleeping well, had me beat.  I don’t usually come home and drop dead, but last night I came home and almost immediately fell asleep.  My plan was to just lie down for a minute and close my eyes — staring at a computer screen all day, something I’ve never had to do in a job before but now do to the nth degree, really kills my baby blues.  So, I ended up falling asleep.  Surprisingly, I did get a bit of sleep last night as well, so I’m feeling fairly refreshed.  Could be that pot of coffee that created that, however.

Last night Dr. Love went (without me, as I was really snoozing) to Home Depot and bought sand.  Sand, oh glorious sand, for the rock patio, so it can be finished off.  We plan on laying the rest of it tonight.  The next step is to buy oh-so-expensive polymer sand that goes between the cracks, then is wetted and dries into a kind of hardened cement.  He also picked up the stand for my fire pit from QoB…just one step closer to starting fires and drinking margaritas right in my own backyard!

As follow-up to yesterday’s blog, Kizzer Wizzer is feeling better, I think.  She is not itching and scratching and biting so much, but she still is to a greater degree than I would like.  It’s been 48 hours now since I put flea/tick stuff on her, so she will be getting a bath tonight, like it or not.  I am just crossing my fingers that I still have some doggy shampoo and that Dr. Love will be up to helping with that task after laying the patio. 

I have really been slacking, as I’d mentioned before, about reading and commenting on blogs that I follow lately.  I’ve been doing all of my blogging in the morning, and then don’t have time to read any.  Then, when I get home from work, I don’t want to sit and stare at a computer, not to mention the fact that most days I’m kind of brain-dead at the end of the day and would much rather be outside on the porch, running around town, or visiting at QoB’s.  I need to figure out a way to get it into my schedule, though, because I miss keeping up on how everyone is doing!

About a year ago, Big Dog recommended a movie, Broken Bridges, for me to watch, which is oh-so-rare, because it is usually the other way around.  I don’t know if it was made for TV, but it has been running a lot lately on CMT and, since we have a DVR, I finally found an airing to record.  It’s sitting on my DVR list, just waiting for me to watch it.  I’m hoping I’ll get around to it this weekend.  QoB burned me the soundtrack right after Big Dog had watched it last year, and it’s amazing

I find this song particularly inspiring and totally “me.”  LOVE IT!

Broken, Lindsey Haun from the movie Broken Bridges

3 comments

  1. Broken, Lindsey Haun

    Wake up to a sunny day, not a cloud up in the sky
    Then it starts to rain, my defenses hit the ground
    And they shatter all around, so open and exposed
    I found strength in the struggle
    Face to face with my trouble

    When you’re broken in a million little pieces
    And you’re trying but you can’t hold on anymore
    Every tear falls down for a reason
    Don’t you stop believing in yourself
    When you’re broken

    Little girl don’t be so blue
    I know what you’re going through
    Don’t let it beat you up
    Hitting walls and getting scars
    Only makes you who you are
    Only makes you who you are
    No matter how much your heart is aching
    There is beauty in the breaking
    Yeah

    When you’re broken in a million little pieces
    And you’re trying but you can’t hold on anymore
    Every tear falls down for a reason
    Don’t you stop believing in yourself
    When you’re broken

    Better days are gonna find you once again
    Every piece will find its place

    When you’re broken, when you’re broken

    When you’re broken in a million little pieces
    And you’re trying but you can’t hold on anymore
    Every tear falls down for a reason
    Don’t you stop believing in yourself
    When you’re broken
    Oh, when you’re broken
    When you’re broken
    When you’re broken


  2. Love the song! Sounds like you have lots of plans for in the evening. Don’t forget to take the time for yourself to just regroup. It’s ok to give yourself an evening off every now and then (LOL coming from the girl who can’t remember to do this herself).


  3. Honey, you’re never broken… just a little cracked now and then. 😀 XOXOXO PS Yeppers, good song.



Leave a Reply

